Euro 7: Blocking minority forms in Council

A blocking minority is forming in the Council against Euro 7. Eight member states – France, Italy, the Czech Republic, Bulgaria, Hungary, Poland, Romania and Slovakia – have joined forces to reject the Commission’s emissions regulation proposal, in part outright. “We are opposed to any new tailpipe emission rules, including new test conditions and pollutant limits“, the non-paper, obtained by Table.Media, states. It says Euro 7 would force manufacturers to invest heavily in combustion technology, and the money would be missed in the transformation to CO2-free powertrains. The votes of the eight member states would be enough to block the proposal in the Council.

Continue reading now

… and get free access to this Professional Briefing for a month.

Are you already a guest at the Europe.Table? Log in now


    Hydrogen bank: Habeck open to participation by H2Global
    Think tank: China’s trade with Russia not grown significantly
    EU Parliament to deprive Hungary of Council Presidency
    Renaturation: EPP leaves negotiations