Agreement on partial oil embargo: embarrassment averted

Viktor Orbán got what he wanted. The 27 EU heads of state and government have agreed to exempt pipeline supplies from the EU’s oil embargo against Russia. Hungary depends on Russian oil and is hooked on the Druzhba pipeline. Orbán had therefore vehemently opposed a more far-reaching oil boycott. The Czech Republic and Slovakia also obtain Russian oil from the Druzhba pipeline and are now spared the measure.

Continue reading now

… and get free access to this Professional Briefing for a month.

Are you already a guest at the Europe.Table? Log in now


    Majority of member states fail to meet recycling targets
    Rocky start at new ethics body
    COP28 leaders in Bonn and Brussels: Waiting for clarity
    Heating rush: Commission hammers back