Transition period ends: EU no longer allowed to purchase coal from Russia

EU countries will no longer be allowed to import coal from Russia from this Thursday. At midnight, the transitional period for the coal embargo against Russia, which the EU states decided on as part of the fifth sanctions package in April, will end. To allow the industry to adjust to the import ban, the countries agreed at the time to a transition period of 120 days.

Continue reading now

Get 30 days of free access to the Decision Brief to read these and more quality news every day.

Are you already a guest at the Europe.Table? Log in now


    Hydrogen: 1 billion for green steel
    Euro 7 proposal postponed
    EU to integrate aid for Ukraine into 2023 budget
    EU finance ministers agree on funds for energy investments