14 vice presidents for the EU Parliament

The changing of the guard goes back to an agreement reached by the EPP, S&D, and Renew in 2019. After the European elections, the three largest groups had agreed to change the president halfway through the legislative term. This was to preserve the balance of power in the EU institutions. However, with Metsola’s election, the EPP will lead two of the three major institutions (European Parliament, Commission, and Council).

Continue reading now

… and get free access to this Professional Briefing for a month.

Are you already a guest at the Europe.Table? Log in now


    CBAM launch triggers CO2 pricing worldwide
    Digital decade: big plans, small steps
    China: Merics warns of manipulation
    Robert Fico – Slovakia’s political stalwart