Focus topics

All articles by Fabian Peltsch

Slovenia plans to allow Taiwan office
Slovenia and Taiwan plan to establish mutual economic and trade offices in their capitals. This was stated by Slovenian Prime Minister Janez Jansa in an interview with the Indian television station Doordarshan on Monday. Most recently, a Taiwan office in Lithuania caused outrage in Beijing, resulting in a ban on Lithuanian goods (China.Table reported). It […] continue reading →
Image of Peltsch Fabian
by Fabian Peltsch
Hong Kong’s papal bridge builder
After a three-year search, the Vatican has found a new bishop for Hong Kong in Stephen Chow Sau-yan. The 62-year-old Jesuit is to broker between the fronts and prevent Christians in Hong Kong from suffering the same fate as the believers on the mainland. continue reading →
Image of Peltsch Fabian
by Fabian Peltsch
Siltronic takeover almost perfect
The acquisition of the Munich-based semiconductor group Siltronic by its Taiwanese competitor Globalwafers is as good as a done deal. This is reported by the German newspaper FAZ with reference to an interview with Doris Hsu, CEO of Globalwafers. According to Hsu, the sale is still subject to approval by the Chinese State Administration for […] continue reading →
Image of Peltsch Fabian
by Fabian Peltsch
Canada and Taiwan talk trade
Canada and Taiwan want to begin talks on an international investment agreement, as Business representatives from Taipei and Ottawa agreed on at a virtual summit on Monday. These “exploratory discussions” are an important milestone in strengthening mutual economic and trade relations, according to a press release from the Canadian government. An investment protection agreement is […] continue reading →
Image of Peltsch Fabian
by Fabian Peltsch
China sends peace ambassadors to Africa
China plans to send a peace envoy to the conflict-plagued Horn of Africa region. China’s Foreign Minister Wang Yi made the announcement last Thursday during a diplomatic visit to Kenya. The special envoy, who has not yet been named, is expected to focus on easing the military conflict in Ethiopia between the Tigray People’s Liberation […] continue reading →
Image of Peltsch Fabian
by Fabian Peltsch
Sri Lanka asks for loan deferral
Sri Lanka’s President Gotabaya Rajapaksa is pressing for a deferment in repaying his country’s debt to China. Rajapaksa said this during a meeting with Chinese Foreign Minister Wang Yi in Colombo on Sunday. Sri Lanka is currently facing a foreign exchange crisis that has brought the island nation to the brink of default. The country […] continue reading →
Image of Peltsch Fabian
by Fabian Peltsch
Lockdown for next Chinese metropolis
After the metropolis of Xi’an, another major Chinese city has imposed a complete lockdown. The 1.17 million citizens of Yuzhou in the central Chinese province of Henan have not been allowed to leave their houses and apartments since Monday evening. According to local authorities, guards are ensuring compliance with the curfew. In Yuzhou, a mere […] continue reading →
Image of Peltsch Fabian
by Fabian Peltsch
‘You have to fight for freedom of the press’
Shirley Leung is one of the last journalists in Hong Kong to report on pro-democracy activities on the ground. As a reporter for the Apple Daily, she experienced the shutdown by Beijing firsthand. She now seeks to prevent the fates of democracy activists from being erased from the collective memory. Fabian Peltsch spoke with Leung. continue reading →
Image of Peltsch Fabian
by Fabian Peltsch
Françoise Hauser – author of China books
When Françoise Hauser had just earned her Master’s degree in Sinology in the mid-1990s, a visit to the employment office recommended she choose a different career path. “Back then, there wasn’t much anyone could do with Chinese,” says the writer, who was born in Mainz in 1967. After a brief but profound interlude at a […] continue reading →
Image of Peltsch Fabian
by Fabian Peltsch

Themenschwerpunkte

Alle Artikel von Fabian Peltsch

Slowenien will Taiwan-Büro zulassen
Slowenien und Taiwan möchten in ihren Hauptstädten gegenseitige Wirtschafts- und Handelsbüros einrichten. Das erklärte der slowenische Premierminister Janez Jansa am Montag in einem Interview mit dem indischen Fernsehsender Doordarshan. Ein „Taiwan-Büro“ in Litauen hatte Peking so erzürnt, dass die Volksrepublik seitdem Waren aus dem baltischen EU-Staat blockiert (China.Table berichtete). Offen ist, ob das Büro einen […] weiterlesen →
Bild von Peltsch Fabian
von Fabian Peltsch
Hongkongs päpstlicher Brückenbauer
Nach drei Jahren Suche hat der Vatikan mit Stephen Chow Sau-yan einen neuen Bischof für Hongkong gefunden. Der 62-jährige Jesuit soll zwischen den Fronten vermitteln und verhindern, dass den Hongkonger Christen ein ähnliches Schicksal droht wie den Gläubigen auf dem Festland. weiterlesen →
Bild von Peltsch Fabian
von Fabian Peltsch
Siltronic-Übernahme fast perfekt
Die Übernahme des Münchener Halbleiterkonzerns Siltronic durch den Wettbewerber Globalwafers aus Taiwan ist offenbar so gut wie beschlossene Sache. Das meldet die FAZ unter Berufung auf ein Interview mit Doris Hsu, der Vorstandsvorsitzenden von Globalwafers. Laut Hsu hängt der Verkauf noch an der Zustimmung durch die chinesische Wettbewerbsbehörde State Administration for Market Regulation (SAMR). Das sei allerdings […] weiterlesen →
Bild von Peltsch Fabian
von Fabian Peltsch
Kanada und Taiwan sprechen über Handel
Kanada und Taiwan wollen Gespräche über ein Investitionsschutzabkommen aufnehmen. Darauf verständigten sich Wirtschaftsvertreter aus Taipeh und Ottawa bei einem virtuellen Gipfeltreffen am Montag. Die „Erkundungsgespräche“ seien ein wichtiger Meilenstein in der Stärkung der gegenseitigen Wirtschafts- und Handelsbeziehungen, heißt es in einer Pressemitteilung der kanadischen Regierung. Ein Investitionsschutzabkommen gilt als Vorstufe zu einem Freihandelsvertrag. Der Inselstaat […] weiterlesen →
Bild von Peltsch Fabian
von Fabian Peltsch
China entsendet Friedensbotschafter nach Afrika
China plant, einen Friedensbotschafter in die von Konflikten geplagte Region am Horn von Afrika zu entsenden. Das erklärte Chinas Außenminister Wang Yi vergangenen Donnerstag bei einem diplomatischen Besuch in Kenia. Der bisher nicht namentlich genannte Sondergesandte soll sich vor allem um die Befriedung des militärischen Konfliktes in Äthiopien zwischen der Volksbefreiungsfront von Tigray (TPLF) und […] weiterlesen →
Bild von Peltsch Fabian
von Fabian Peltsch
Sri Lanka bittet um Stundung von Krediten
Sri Lankas Präsident Gotabaya Rajapaksa drängt auf Aufschub bei der Rückzahlung der Kredite seines Landes bei China. Das erklärte Rajapaksa bei einem Treffen mit dem chinesischen Außenminister Wang Yi in Colombo am Sonntag. Sri Lanka befindet sich derzeit in einer Devisenkrise, die den Inselstaat an den Rand des Zahlungsausfalls gebracht hat. Das Land muss in […] weiterlesen →
Bild von Peltsch Fabian
von Fabian Peltsch
Weitere Millionen-Stadt im Lockdown
Nach der Millionenmetropole Xi’an hat eine weitere chinesische Großstadt den kompletten Lockdown verhängt. Die 1,17 Millionen Bürger von Yuzhou in der zentralchinesischen Provinz Henan dürfen seit Montagabend ihre Häuser und Wohnungen nicht mehr verlassen. Die Einhaltung der Ausgangssperre wird laut Angaben der lokalen Behörden mit Wachposten kontrolliert. In Yuzhou waren in den vergangenen Tagen gerade einmal […] weiterlesen →
Bild von Peltsch Fabian
von Fabian Peltsch
„Für Pressefreiheit muss man kämpfen“
Shirley Leung ist eine der letzten Journalistinnen Hongkongs, die vor Ort über pro-demokratische Aktivitäten berichten. Als Reporterin der Zeitung Apple Daily hat sie die Schließung des Blattes durch Peking hautnah miterlebt. Sie will nun verhindern, dass die Schicksale von Demokratie-Aktivisten aus dem kollektiven Gedächtnis gelöscht werden. Mit Leung sprach Fabian Peltsch. weiterlesen →
Bild von Peltsch Fabian
von Fabian Peltsch
Françoise Hauser – Autorin von China-Büchern
Als Françoise Hauser Mitte der 1990er-Jahre ihren Sinologie-Magister frisch in der Tasche hatte, wurde ihr bei einem Besuch auf dem Arbeitsamt gleich eine Umschulung vorgeschlagen. „Mit Chinesisch konnte man damals noch nicht viel anfangen“, sagt die 1967 in Mainz geborene Schriftstellerin. Nach einem kurzen, aber intensiven Intermezzo bei einer Computerfirma landete sie schließlich doch wieder […] weiterlesen →
Bild von Peltsch Fabian
von Fabian Peltsch